WLU Mentoring Award

In 2009, Women Lawyers of Utah began a new tradition of honoring an individual who has demonstrated an exceptional commitment to mentoring lawyers in the Utah legal community at the WLU Annual Fall Retreats. Please feel free to submit nominations for the Mentoring Award Recipient for this year’s Fall Retreat on or before September 27.  Nominations will be reviewed based on how strongly the nominee meets the following criteria:

o   serves as a role model to women lawyers in the community,

o   fosters the development and advancement of women lawyers, and

o   significantly contributes to the profession and/or the community through those efforts.

Nominations must be supported by a written nomination letter of no more than two (2) pages that includes a testimonial of how the candidate has mentored and shaped the careers of her mentees and meets the above criteria.

The WLU Mentoring Award Recipients:

2009 – Margaret Plane

2010 – Joan Watt

2011 – Patricia (Pat) Christensen

2012 – Hon. Sandra N. Peuler

2013 – Hon. Brooke C. Wells

2014 – Annette W. Jarvis

2015 – [National Association of Women Judges Conference]

2016 – Hon. Vernice S. Trease

2017 – Commissioner Catherine S. Conklin

2018 – Kirstin K. Woods