Initiative on the Advancement and Retention of Women


The first symposium was held on May 21, 2009 at the Scott M. Matheson Courthouse and it addressed the topic Identifying the Problem and How It Hurts Your Bottom Line. Chief Justice Durham moderated the event and introduced the topics: The Unveiling of the Retention Survey Results, Discussion of the Best Business Practices, and The Financial Implications of Retention. The special guests included Cynthia T. Calvert, co-director PAR at UC Hastings College of Law and Blane R. Prescott, the Hildebrandt Institute — nationally recognized experts on retention issues in the work place. The symposium also featured prominent local attorneys and judges.

The second symposium was held on June 25, 2009 at the Federal Courthouse in Judge Benson’s courtroom and it addressed the issues of Moving Forward and Best Management Practices.  The symposium included a presentation from Mary Crane, a nationally recognized expert on generational issues in the workplace, and discussions moderated by Karen Lockwood of the Lockwood Group, LLC, about the best practices for retaining and advancing women attorneys.

The final Initiative Report is available for download: WLU_Initiative Report_Final.

Thank you so much to all the generous Sponsors of the Initiative:

As of May 4, 2009


Platinum Sponsors


Gold Sponsors


Silver Sponsors


Bronze Sponsors

Clyde Snow Sessions & Swenson
$ 1,000.00

Cohne Rappaport & Segal, P.C.
$ 1,000.00

Fabian & Clendenin
$ 1,000.00

J. Reuben Clark Law School
$ 1,000.00

Jones Waldo Holbrook & McDonough
$ 1,000.00

Parsons Kinghorn Harris
$ 1,000.00

Prince Yeates & Geldzahler
$ 1,000.00

Richards Brandt Miller & Nelson
$ 1,000.00

Women Lawyers of Utah, Inc.
$ 2,000.00


Small Firm Sponsors

Jane Reister Conard, LLC
$ 250.00

Kruse Landa Maycock & Ricks, LLC
$ 750.00

Strindberg & Scholnick
$ 500.00

Young, Hoffman, Strassberg & Ensor, LLP
$ 250.00

Utah State Bar Litigation Section
$ 500.00

Utah State Bar Young Lawyers Division
$ 500.00

Utah Minority Bar Association
$ 250.00

Stephen W. Owens
$ 100.00


Firm Retention Initiative Advisory Committee

Christine M. Durham, Chief Justice, Utah Supreme Court

Paul M. Warner, Magistrate Judge

Nathan Alder, Christensen & Jensen

Gary F. Bendinger, Howrey LLP

Peter W. Billings, Jr., Fabian & Clendenin

Hiram Chodosh, Dean, S.J. Quinney College of Law

Patricia W. Christensen, Parr Brown Gee & Loveless

Charlotte L. Miller, Kirton & McConkie

Douglas M. Monson, Ray Quinney & Nebeker

Alan L. Sullivan, Snell & Wilmer

James Gordon, Dean, J. Reuben Clark Law School